Building Closets in a 1900 Home (Part II)

We continue plodding along on the closets. This weekend, I filled holes from the brad nailer, but I don’t have pictures of that.

On Sunday morning, I primed the whole thing.

primed closets

Priming took forever because the wood soaked up so much of it, and because Peter used the primed side of most of the plywood inside the closets. Thanks, honey.

But those will get painted someday, too, so it’ll just save me time then instead of now.

Sunday afternoon, the closets got their first coat of paint.

I’ve been telling Pete for years that we needed to paint this room. When it was a living room, I leaned toward a warm, light gray to make the crown moulding pop against the original milk painted ceiling. I was afraid any real color would compete with the ceiling.

When this became our bedroom, though, I realized how lovely it was to have it white. I’ll take daytime pictures when this space is done, but suffice it to say, it is really nice during the day. One of the windows is a south-facing window, so it lets in really nice sunlight and the white has made this a really airy room. And, I’m slowly coming out of my gray period and looking for ways to add a little more understated color to the house.

So, I’ve decided to keep the room itself white (though it will get a fresh coat because the white in there is a little dingy and there are lots of little damage spots after a few years of living there). I’m sure Pete is relieved (though he secretly agrees that the gray in the dining room was the right choice).

On to the closets. I don’t know why, but the first time we drew up this plan, I wanted those closets to be navy blue. I’ve never really deviated from that plan. I knew the blue had to be the right blue, with lots of gray in it. A classic blue would really clash with all the green tones in the ceiling. So I chose a color called Volcanic Ash from Valspar.

 

volcanic ash

It’s a dark blue with gray and even brown undertones. The first coat went on in a semi-gloss on Sunday afternoon.

 

DSC_0133

Pete asked if I wanted him to take my picture. I said yes, because I tend to not exist on this blog, but that I preferred that I not look at the camera. See! I do things!

One coat is on, and so far, I really like it. It’s dark and dramatic, but I don’t think it competes with the ceiling at all. The white iron bed will pop in front of it, and I’m picking out a piece of art or two to put on the shelf.

Here’s another picture I took with my phone when the first coat was done. I’ll probably finish it up later this week and we’ll move the bed- and then Peter can continue hating the fact that the doors aren’t done yet until he has time to build them.

closetscoat1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.