Tiny Bathroom: Finished!

Ok, well there’s no door on it yet (is that important?). Peter plans to build that in the coming week or two. But here it is, the tiny bathroom that we added to our 1900 home in an effort to bring it into the modern era.

Sorry about the photos; this room is impossible to photograph. Well, that’s probably not true. I’m sure there are some people who can do it. But they run other blogs.

DSC_0298

It’s small, but it really doesn’t feel so small when you’re in there. That toilet, by the way, is the third one we’ve attempted to put in here. The first toilet, from Home Depot, was cracked in half when we opened the box. The second one, also from Home Depot, made it all the way through installation, only to leak water from the connection between the bowl and the tank. Finally, we bought one from a local place (I’ll have to find out the name) and we now have a toilet.

We really tried to go classic on some of the finishes in here. The sink is a Deco throwback that I found on Vintage Tub and Bath. I love the retro faucet I picked up there, too.

DSC_0300

Over the last few years, I’ve come to realize that a nicer switch plate really does make a huge difference in the feel of the room, so for $4-5 more than a plain one, I picked up these.

DSC_0296

When it came to mirrors, I was done spending money. Why are mirrors so expensive? I ended up buying a cheap black frame from TJ Maxx and taking it to Lowe’s, where they cut a piece of mirrored glass and even installed it and disposed of the frame’s original glass.

DSC_0299

Well, that’s about it for the tiny bathroom. There’s not much to it, so there’s not a lot to photograph. We’re glad the project is over, and glad that the second story of the house is put back together. Even when you don’t go up there every day, isn’t it crazy how much having disarray hanging literally over your heads can throw you off your game?

DSC_0301

Sis had to make sure I was doing a good job photographing the room.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiny Bathroom: Finished!

  1. It looks so stylish, I love it!

Comments are closed.