Superhero!

It’s been a couple of weeks, I know. I don’t know if we’re recovering from the bathroom project or just working on things that aren’t particularly photogenic (the second). But The Boy turned 3 last weekend and that called for a handmade superhero cape.

IMG_0905

I actually made the cape in early May in anticipation of his birthday. I found an easy tutorial online ( here ) and mostly followed the instructions.

The only thing I did differently from the tutorial was applique a red rocket on the back before sewing the lining onto the cape. The Boy is a little obsessed with rockets right now. I also used a contrasting thread color for the topstitching to make it a little more fun.

I really didn’t think he’d like it very much; this child is particular about what he wears. However, in combination with a gift of binoculars from his grandma and grandpa, who were in town to celebrate, I think he felt like a real superhero!

IMG_1072

(Photo by my friend Suzi, downloaded from Google and gone through a bunch of other silly steps to get it onto this page.)

Here’s the cape from the back, when he was watching Jake and the Neverland Pirates mostly in the buff (a cape counts as clothing, right?).

IMG_1076

Not a bad first dress-up project, if I do say so myself. 🙂

Have a good one, folks; I’m sure I’ll be back soon with a house project. There’s always something going on here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.